FREE Delivery
$23  (25% off)
FREE Delivery
$21  (25% off)
FREE Delivery
$22  (25% off)
Filter by Publisher
More Publishers
Filter by Author
More Authors
Filter by Price
$0 - $180

Discover the world of Jainism, a religion that has its roots deep down centuries

Their lessons frequently remained as opposed to those of Vedic ministers of the time who stressed ceremonial practices and their own job as middlemen among mankind and the divine beings. Today, a fragment of India's populace recognizes as Jain, making it the smallest of the country's six significant religious gatherings after Hinduism, Islam, Christianity, Sikhism, and Buddhism. All Jains are vegetarians, per the direction to practice ahimsa (not hurting other life). Eating root vegetables is viewed as a type of viciousness in Jainism because consuming the foundation of a plant obliterates the plant. These dietary practices stretch out even outside their home as well. Jainism is a religion of self-help. There are no divine beings or profound creatures that will help human beings. The three core values of Jainism, the 'three gems', are correct belief, the right information, and the right conduct. The incomparable guideline of Jain living is peacefulness (ahimsa). This is one of the 5 mahavratas (the 5 extraordinary commitments).

The other mahavratas are non-connection to material assets, not lying, not stealing, and limit to sexuality (with chastity as the ideal). Mahavira is viewed as the one who gave Jainism its present-day structure. The texts containing the lessons of Mahavira are known as the Agamas. Jains are separated into two significant orders; the Digambara (signifying "sky-clad") group and the Svetambara (signifying "white-clad") organization. Jainism has no clerics. Its proficient religious individuals are priests and nuns, who have severely religious and plain existences. Jainism's lessons have affected numerous everywhere. However conceived as a Hindu, Mahatma Gandhi respected the Jains' obligation to practice peacefulness, and he integrated that conviction into his development for Indian freedom.


Q1. Who was Lord Mahavira?

Jains honor 24 Jinas, or Tirthankaras: otherworldly pioneers who accomplished edification and have been freed from the pattern of the resurrection. One of the most powerful Jinas was Mahavira, initially called Vardhamana, who is viewed as the 24th, and last, Jina. He was naturally a part of the Kshatriya class. At the point when he was 30 years of age, he revoked his regular life to carry on with the existence of a parsimonious (one who rehearses self-denial of material assets). After more than 12 years of serious fasting and reflection, Vardhamana accomplished edification and became Mahavira (signifying "Incredible Hero"). As indicated by custom, he laid out an enormous local area of Jain supporters: 14,000 priests and 36,000 nuns at the hour of his demise.

Q2. What does Jainism mean?

The name Jainism is derived from the Sanskrit action word Ji, "to vanquish." It alludes to the parsimonious battle that, it is accepted, Jain renunciants (priests and nuns) should battle against the interests and substantial faculties to acquire edification, or all-knowingness and immaculateness of soul. The most distinguished of those couple people who have accomplished illumination is called Jina (in a real sense, "Hero"), and the custom's devout and lay disciples are called Jain ("Follower of the Conquerors"), or Jaina.