Look Inside

Sangitiyavamso- The Chronicle of Buddhist Councils on Dhamma & Vinaya (By Somdet Phra Vanaratana 'Bimaladhamma')

FREE Delivery
Ships in 1-3 days
Item Code: NAY652
Author: Bimalendra Kumar and Ujjwal Kumar
Language: English
Edition: 2020
ISBN: 9788194538745
Pages: 258
Other Details 9.00 X 6.00 inch
Weight 540 gm
Fully insured
Fully insured
Shipped to 153 countries
Shipped to 153 countries
More than 1M+ customers worldwide
More than 1M+ customers worldwide
100% Made in India
100% Made in India
23 years in business
23 years in business
About The Book

The tradition of Vamsa in Pali dates back to Buddha-ghosha's era and its uninterrupted composition continued till the nineteenth or twentieth century. Although the origin of Vamsa literature is attributed to Sri Lanka and Burma, Thailand has also played a role in its development. The Vamsa literature of Sri Lanka (Dipavamsa, Mahavamsa, Culavamsa, Mahabodhivamsa, Thupavamsa, etc.) and Burma (Gandhavamsa, Sasanavamsa) are well known and many of them are published, but the Vamsa literature of Thailand is still unknown in academia and not available in Roman and other non-Thai scripts. At least three texts of the early Rattankosin (Bangkok) period of Thailand can be considered under this genre, (1) Sangitiyavamsa, (2) Mahayuddhakaravamsa and (3) Culayuddhakaravamsa. The present work is an attempt to publish the complete Roman edition of the Sarigitiyavamsa with critical notes and indexes.

The Sangitiyavamsa is one of the most comprehensive chronicles of Thailand. It is "a history of Buddhism combined with the history of the Kingdom" of Thailand. It was composed by Bimaladhamma, popularly known by his conferred title Somdet Phra Wannarat (Somdet Phra Vanaratana), in 1789 to commemorate the Ninth Buddhist Council, held in the year 1788 in Thailand, and to provide legitimacy to the kingship of Rama I.

The Sangitiyavamsa is divided, in a somewhat arbitrary way, into nine pariccheda (chapters), some of which in turn comprise several sub-divisions. The main purpose of the text is to present a portrayal of nine Theravada Buddhist Councils (three in India, four in Sri Lanka and two in Thailand) in chronological order, regardless of the venues of those councils.

**Contents and Sample Pages**

Add a review
Have A Question

For privacy concerns, please view our Privacy Policy