Please Wait...

Kalidasa's Trilogy (English Only)

Kalidasa's Trilogy (English Only)
10.2012.75  [ 20% off ]
Item Code: IDK445
Author: Dipavali Debroy
Publisher: Smriti Books
Edition: 2005
ISBN: 8187967706
Pages: 161 (4 Color Illustrations)
Cover: Paperback
Other Details: 8.5" X 5.4"
About the Book

Kalidasa's Trilogy consists of three of Kalidasa's poetical works: Meghadootam, Kumarasambhavam and Raghuvamsham.

The book starts by introducing Kalidasa to the readers and goes on to introducing his above mentioned works. Then the three stories are presented, not as a literal translation from Sanskrit, but as an adaptation in English prose highlighting the beauty of Kalidasa's poetry at every step. Except for Meghadootam, which is an original tale of a Yaksha pining for his wife and sending a love-message through a cloud; Kalidasa has drawn from older sources like the Puranas and Ramayana for his other works. Kumarasambhavam is about Shiva and Parvati. Raghuvamsham is about a royal family, the Suryavamsha, the family of Rama of Ramayana.

The purpose of this book is to bring to the readers the treasures of Indian classic literature, so that they are able to understand and appreciate its beauty and are encouraged to read the original works.

Dipavali Debroy is a lecturer in Delhi University. Life Member of Bhandarkar Oriental Research Institute (B.O.R.I.), Pune, she is the co-author (with husband Bibek Debroy) of various research papers published in the Annals of B.O.R.I. Dipavali and Bibek have also authored abridged translations of the Puranas, Vedas and Upanishads. A prolific writer for all age groups, this is her first book in the series on Kalidasa's work.



Add a review

Your email address will not be published *

For privacy concerns, please view our Privacy Policy

Post a Query

For privacy concerns, please view our Privacy Policy

Related Items